recommendation question

Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

recommendation question

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Jan 26, 2013 2:06 pm

I am a transfer student and did well the first semester at my new school. Assuming I do equally well in the spring semester I will be applying to federal clerkships with a focus on COA and the more competitive Districts.

One of the professors that I asked to give me a recommendations replied and said that she doesn't feel comfortable making phone calls on my behalf which is understandable I think because she doesn't know me all that well. However, she will write me a letter and likes to make it really strong. She wants to me to write the first draft and then she will make changes where appropriate.

1. Should I go with this professor? I already have three other recommenders who know me better. However, she is a big name professor if that makes a difference.

2. I have no clue how to draft a letter of recommendation that would be strong enough for federal clerkship applications....advice on this if you answered affirmatively to question 1?