Law School Grades Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
ndhwn

New

Law School Grades

Post by ndhwn » Tue Jan 23, 2007 4:22 pm

Hi All,

I'm a prospective law school student. Not sure if this is the right place to ask this question, but here goes:

After reviewing the hiring policies of various law firms, a couple of the prestigious firms seek students who receive a gpa of 3.5 or higher, moot court, law review, etc.

I was just wondering how easy (or in this case, how difficult) it is to get a 3.5 in law school. I understand that it is dependent on the school and that law school, in general, is very very difficult. A lot of my seemingly brighter law school friends talk about how they are scrambling to get Bs.

Is getting a 3.5 and above THAT DIFFICULT? What does the top 5% usually graduate with? Does anyone get a 4.0?

Thanks in advance for your help.

NYU 1L

New

Post by NYU 1L » Tue Jan 23, 2007 5:05 pm

At NYU 3.5 is extremely high. 3.7 cummulative GPA would be about the top 5% of the class. A typical grade distribution (this is a real grade distribution from a real NYU civil procedure class, the school publishes them to students) is:

A: 5%
A-: 15-%
B+: 30%
B: 42%
B-: 6%
C or below: 2%

In reality, a lot of the better students will get some As and some Bs making it extremely rare for a person to be getting enough A and A- grades to get up to a 3.7 GPA. For example, a friend of mine got an A, a B, and a B+. The point is, a lot of the A and A- grades go to people who get 3.5 or so GPAs. It is very rare for someone to be in the top 20% of all classes and net a 3.7 or higher. Since 3.7 is top 5% of the class, 3.5 is probably top 20%.

ndhwn

New

Post by ndhwn » Tue Jan 23, 2007 5:34 pm

Thanks for your reply, NYU 1L. Very helpful.