Supplements as primary source of studying Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
Kya6

New

Supplements as primary source of studying

Post by Kya6 » Fri Aug 24, 2018 5:56 pm

Hey everyone!
New 1L here. Quick question. I was wondering if this would be a solid study structure.

To use quimbee and other canned briefs to get familiar with the assigned cases, as well as learn the rule / black letter law. Then go through the cases ( without briefing) so I can be ready for class and cold calls. Then use supplements, E&Es for example as my main source of studying( go through them cover to cover) Sorry if this was simple but would love your honest advice! I am not trying to take short cuts or anything, just want to make sure I am studying efficiently and effectively for the exams!

Pneumonia

Gold

Re: Supplements as primary source of studying

Post by Pneumonia » Fri Aug 24, 2018 6:44 pm

Your study structure should depend on your professor. Get a month or so of class under your belt, then revist this question. Legal learning is fairly idiosyncratic. Also, I've never heard of a professor teaching ALL of the material in a casebook. 1L Civ Pro might come the closest, but even for that you're almost certainly going to be reading less than 50% of the book. So reading an E&E front to back will rarely be an efficient use of time.

Kya6

New

Post by Kya6 » Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:25 pm

Thanks for the response! So would you recommend reading the relevant sections of the E&Es that correspond to the overarching themes discussed in class? I just want to make sure that I am spending my time and energy in a manner that will pay off on the exam, rather then in class. Any advise is highly appreciated!

Lolstudent

New

Post by Lolstudent » Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:35 pm