Thinking about dropping out, any advice? Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
jeffcooon

New

Thinking about dropping out, any advice?

Post by jeffcooon » Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:44 pm

I am a part-time student at a school in New Jersey with couple of years of work experience. I just finished 3/4 of 1L classes, I have 2 1L classes remaining in the fall. Working full-time and studying has proven to be very intense and taxing. I just got my grades back and it was abysmal. My cumulative average is around 2.75 which puts me at around Top 70%, 80% in my school. I need to get at least A- and B+ in next semester to pull it back to 3.0, which is median in my school. (I have never received anything over B so far, so even thinking about getting an A- may be a long shot). I came into law school knowing that big law would be a long shot, but I didn't mind working for 10-50 attorney office where I could learn to develop my niche practice area.

Reasons for dropping out:
1) Really don't see myself studying/working in this same way for the next 2-3 years. Balancing school and work was really difficult. Received bad review from the job and bad grades from school... Very unhappy throughout the semester - no life during the weekends, family issues/drama cuz of my bad well-being. I think I was mentally checked out.
2) Since I have no option of changing to full-time student, I just feel irrelevant as a law student- not being able to network during day events, very difficult to do even write on journals/law review and trying out for moot court/etc. because of work schedule.
3) I just wonder what kind of job I could get with my grades - probably doc review, small 1-5 attorney offices, right? Is accounting or other route possible?
Notes: 1) No debt thus far. If I were to stick it out/graduate, I would have around $40,000-44,000 in debt.