Dropping Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
DCtarheel

New

Dropping

Post by DCtarheel » Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:16 pm

Deep lurker in the posts..but need some help

1L at a t40 school hoping for a firm job in NY, DC or the Southeast in corporate law. 3.0 GPA with a weird mix of grades (A-,B+,B+,C+,C). Bottom of the rankings with this GPA though. Do I drop or stick it out? Career services/ admin has been incredible unhelpful about giving an honest assessment. I really want to be a lawyer, I enjoy the work and switched careers( I have 5 years of work experience in tech) to go back to school. I am in my very early thirties. Enough savings will pay through 2L no problem, so low debt.

I worked very hard last semester. I read TLS, used E and Es, did LEEWs and did flashcards and outlines. Writing is weak naturally but meeting with a tutor to improve for exams. The C+ was the result of a 10 pt deduction that I am appealing, the raw score would have given me a B+. I feel like I have an okay handle on the law and am busting my ass outside to close the gaps on my test taking. That said, this is what employers will see.I don't want a government job and would prefer not to take a job that will pay less than I was making going into school (90K) Any advice would be appreciated. Fully realize the implications of a T40 status and the GPA on career prospects. At wits end and could use the help. Thanks guys.

grades??

Silver

Re: Dropping

Post by grades?? » Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:47 pm

You won't be getting a firm job making above 90k with these grades. Even if you improve and second semester crush it, sounds like you would still be at median. Median at t40 isn't gonna get you the job you want (maybe even a job at all). Given these circumstances, dropping out is the right advice here

DrSpaceman

Bronze

Post by DrSpaceman » Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:55 pm