Nervous Breakdown 1L year Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
ILJ

New

Nervous Breakdown 1L year

Post by ILJ » Wed Sep 24, 2014 8:08 pm

One month in, and I'm freaking out right now. I'm studying constantly. All my classmates seem smarter than me. I feel like having a nervous breakdown. I just feel so shitty and stupid, and I've never felt stupid in my life. For what it's worth, I have a full ride and my living expenses covered - so please don't tell me to drop out. Until now, I loved every minute of just learning all the time. But - I'm really starting to feel the pressure of grades and worried I won't do well. It's as if my mental attitude has changed. I really want to get good grades - I'm just having a really bad day and feel like no matter how hard I try there is still something I don't understand. I'm just hoping I can do this.

lawhopeful10

Silver

Re: Nervous Breakdown 1L year

Post by lawhopeful10 » Wed Sep 24, 2014 8:15 pm

You need to take a step back and get some perspective. First of all just accept that you can't guarentee good grades and that is okay. Your life isn't over if you don't do well. Work hard and work smart and just let the chips fall where they may. You can't control what other people do you can only control you. Also get away from the law school and do things you enjoy with people you like whatever that is. You aren't dodging bullets in Syria or starving somewhere. Just control what you can control and try and be excited for what life brings you whatever that is.

BigZuck

Diamond

Post by BigZuck » Wed Sep 24, 2014 8:26 pm