law school exam - am I overthinking it?

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
iliketurtles123

law school exam - am I overthinking it?

Postby iliketurtles123 » Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:44 pm

Last semester, the more I studied for a class, the worse I did.

The class I did best in, I felt unprepared (relatively). I just looked at the model answers, figured out what the professor wanted, and just applied it my own way. In fact, I didn't even read some cases. I just looked at what the professor expected us to know from the case and I didn't try to go "beyond" what the professor was asking. For that test, I just went for the low hanging fruit, and every now and then, went for deeper issues in some questions.

In my other class, I knew the material cold. I felt like I had so much to say that I analyzed in depth every single issue. I didn't do as well, which I don't know why.

Hence.. my question: are law school exams too "easy" that we just overthink things?
Is it just knowing to apply the law to facts? Should I not go into the nuances? My understanding was that a killer analysis required going deep into the issues.... however, in reality it seems like the more I did that, the lower my grades were.

sublime

Re: law school exam - am I overthinking it?

Postby sublime » Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:59 pm

iliketurtles123

Postby iliketurtles123 » Mon Mar 03, 2014 8:22 pm

sublime wrote:The most likely explanation was simply that the exam you thought was easier, was easier for everyone, and vice versa.

Such is the nature of the curve.

It wasn't necessarily "easy v. hard". I thought all the exams were somewhat fair and comparable to practice tests.
It was more how much did I prep and what I did to prep.

northwood

Postby northwood » Mon Mar 03, 2014 9:00 pm

perhaps you overthought things.

NotMyRealName09

Postby NotMyRealName09 » Mon Mar 03, 2014 9:37 pm