Merger question

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
AJS30

Merger question

Postby AJS30 » Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:05 pm

is it better for a company who is being acquired to receive cash or stock? Also, can you do an all cash deal even if another company is offering 50 cents more per share or do you have to take stock in this option?

A. Nony Mouse

Re: Merger question

Postby A. Nony Mouse » Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:18 pm

Is this a legal question? Because you know no one on this site can give you legal advice, right? (That is, even the attorneys on this site can't give you legal advice, it's against the rules.)

AJS30

Postby AJS30 » Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:21 pm

I am a law student. I am working on a problem for a class that I don't understand, nor does my corp. outline help me, so I thought I would ask here.

A. Nony Mouse

Postby A. Nony Mouse » Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:29 pm

Just checking.

ph14

Postby ph14 » Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:31 pm

AJS30 wrote:is it better for a company who is being acquired to receive cash or stock? Also, can you do an all cash deal even if another company is offering 50 cents more per share or do you have to take stock in this option?

1. Sometimes stock will be better, sometimes cash will be better. It depends on a lot of things, such as the timing of the deal. I would look into the factors that determine whether the target company would want stock or cash.
2. Depends on your Revlon duties, I would think. You wrote the sentence in a very confusing and ambiguous way. If you write it more clearly I can try and be more helpful. It's not always clear when exactly Revlon is triggered or when Revlon would be violated. I would think that you should make some arguments about anything that is reasonably arguable.

minnbills

Postby minnbills » Sat Mar 01, 2014 11:04 pm