Case Briefing

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
hausofjosh13

Case Briefing

Postby hausofjosh13 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:58 pm

I'm currently a second semester 1L and was a poli sci/gender studies major in undergrad. Needless to say, my entire undergrad consisted of the "dive in" approach: reading everything, highlighting, annotating, taking notes, etc. I'm finding that this is making it really hard for me to get my homework done in a reasonable time in law school. Specifically, I feel like I'm wasting time briefing all the cases I read. I've read a few articles saying that briefing cases is useless. I'm less worried about having that knowledge when I'm called on in class and more worried about remember key cases when I'm studying for exams.

Does anyone have any tips or suggestions regarding how I can still do my reading, but not waste so much time on briefing and still be prepared for exams?

patogordo

Re: Case Briefing

Postby patogordo » Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:59 pm

instead of CASE BRIEFING you should be BRIEF CASING

skri65

Postby skri65 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:23 pm

I shouldn't, but i do brief cases in two of my classes because I don't like making a fool of myself when called on. Frankly, I have no idea how so many people can read a case and then answer questions so specifically about a case without having some notes about the case. Even with highlighting, I can't look at the case and pick up acute points while on the spot in the classroom. Many people can, and I wish I had that kind of memory or ability to look at a case and be able to answer questions on the facts without notes of some sort.

lawhopeful10

Postby lawhopeful10 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:28 pm