Study Tips Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
Ken

Bronze

Study Tips

Post by Ken » Tue Nov 28, 2006 8:52 pm

When I was a first-year student (1L) at Berkeley's Boalt Hall School of Law I interviewed several second and third year students about what advice they would give to a 1L for success in law school. Below are the many responses that I received, hopefully they will be helpful to everyone either this year or next.

“Entering students should try hard to always remember two things:
1. What it was that brought them to law school (desire to learn, work for public interest, make $, etc).
2. To do fun things periodically (like go to the movies) to break the monotony and keep their spirits up.”

“I would first advise not to take law school too seriously. At a certain level, you have to remind yourself that this place is a joke. But be proud to be at Boalt. I’m a transfer student and I can tell you Boalt is much better than most law schools (especially for liberals). To students of color and women I advise you not to be discouraged by the predominantly white male structure of law school. Join organizations where you will feel supported and where you can tell people what you are really thinking. Do an internship – get experience in the community and don’t forget public interest. Law schools are primarily firm factories because many students don’t realize they have other viable options. Most of all, we need a 1L/2L mentor program. I’m willing to be involved.”

1. “Outline early
2. Do practice exams with a professor
3. Have a life
4. Ignore over-anxious nerds”

1) “Regarding life: Treat your schoolwork like a job. By this I mean 9-5 Mon-Fri. Regardless of when your classes are. If you can do this you will never be behind, and you can even get most of your evenings and weekends off.