Slightly below median from first semester 1L grades

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
rivermaker

Slightly below median from first semester 1L grades

Postby rivermaker » Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:43 pm

Hi everyone. I got slightly below median (.03 off of a 3.25 median) for my first semester grades (B, B, B+, A-) at a t20 with almost a fully scholly. I was wondering how discouraged I should be. First, how different is median and being slightly below median? How much more important are first semester grades than second? Am I gonna get crushed at OCI? I have a lot of legal job experience (don't know how relevant this is) and don't really care about big law. Thanks.

Lwoods

Re: Slightly below median from first semester 1L grades

Postby Lwoods » Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:55 pm

You're not screwed, but you should be proactive and buckle down. Look at your exams, talk to your professors, and see what you can improve on. Work harder and smarter this semester. Don't become complacent.

I've personally found that I do better when I pay attention during lectures and don't use supplements. That way I know better what my particular prof wants to read on the exam. Other people find success using different means, though, which is why I think hind sighting your errors from the fall can provide the best guidance.

Your previous work experience will probably help you outperform your numbers come OCI, particularly if your resume makes you seem like an interesting person. But ITE, you'll still want the strongest numbers you can get.

Good luck!

ran12

Postby ran12 » Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:56 pm