Bluebook Software

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
programmer123

Bluebook Software

Postby programmer123 » Sat Nov 23, 2013 10:14 pm

I hope this is the right forum to ask this question. If not, my apologies.

I'm a computer programmer and I'm considering writing a web-based application that performs Bluebook citations. It strikes me that much of the work (e.g., abbreviations, italics, ordering of sources) is rather tedious and ought to be automated, but I'd like to hear from law students' perspectives before I begin serious work on the project.

So, I have a few questions:

Would you use Bluebook citation software if it were reliable and available?
Note: In my current plan for the software, the reasons behind every correction would be stated explicitly and each correction would be accompanied with a link to the appropriate page of the online Bluebook for anyone who wanted/needed to check the software's accuracy.

What's more important to you: software that double-checks your citations (like the grammar check in Microsoft Word) or software that performs the citations for you? Ideally, the program would/could do both, but the latter is more reliable for creating perfect citations.

What is most annoying part of Bluebook citation work for you?

Would you pay for the convenience of using this software? What would be reasonable for you? What would be unreasonable?

Why doesn't this software exist already?

I'm somewhat of a babe in the woods with regard to the everyday use of Bluebook citation (though I've read through and am familiar with the Bluebook itself), so please feel free to enlighten me. It seems that there are plenty who want this software to exist, and I should be able to have a beta version ready in a few months if the interest is there.

So let me know! I'm happy to answer any questions as well.

Thanks!

brotherdarkness

Re: Bluebook Software