Compliance Professional Contemplating Law School

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
ChiNYC26

Compliance Professional Contemplating Law School

Postby ChiNYC26 » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:16 am

Hello TLS,

New to the website, first post. I've been working in financial regulation for 4 years now, 3 with a regulator, 1 with a consultancy firm, and it has made me contemplate law school. Through my experience, I have developed an expertise in certain federal regulations and also have practical investigative experience working with federal attorneys on enforcement cases.

I'm looking for some advice or thoughts as I'm kind of struggling with the decision to follow through with the LSAT/application preparations. My biggest dilemma is opportunity cost aspect. Going to law school would completely wipe out my savings and I would forego 3 years of my current salary which is into the 6 figures. However, I'm currently bored out of my mind and my thought is that I'm limited to what I can do in this field without a law degree. I'm also thinking that I may be presented with more interesting work as an attorney.

Some other facts, I wasn't the most serious undergraduate student (3.05) and most likely will not score remarkably high on the LSAT (~160-165). Based on what I've read, despite my work experience, I'm basically disqualified from the T14. Is it worth going if I don't go T14? Will a JD leave me better off in the long run? What's the job market like for someone like me after I finish?

Any thoughts or insights are much appreciated.

smaug_

Re: Compliance Professional Contemplating Law School

Postby smaug_ » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:22 am

ChiNYC26 wrote:Hello TLS,