I passed the bar. I thought I'd weigh in on how I studied.

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
usuaggie

I passed the bar. I thought I'd weigh in on how I studied.

Postby usuaggie » Mon Sep 16, 2013 6:41 pm

I recently passed the uniform bar exam with a score of 330, well above what I needed. I thought I'd give some info on how I studied since I would have appreciated it when I was preparing for the bar.

Background: went to the U of Oregon, didn't have great grades. I was middle of my class, studied ~4 hours a week at home (meaning outside of time between classes, because I did study during those times) because I made the choice that spending time with my wife and watching Utah State football was more important than bumping up my class ranking. We'll see if I regret that in a few months if I don't have a job.

First, I signed up for Barbri. I would highly recommend it. It is expensive, sure. But it focuses a lot of information down to a daily set of tasks. I worried about that day of tasks and nothing else. It made the big picture a lot easier to handle.

If you're wondering how "hard" I studied, or how much I studied, to be honest, I didn't grind myself too much. I watched every lecture exept con law because chemerinsky, even though he saved me in law school, was a useless lecturer. I spent 6-8 hours on lecture days studying, did every MBE test, most of the essays, and spent 3-5 hours studying the last two weeks. I knew that I could handle the material and I was more worried about burning out than learning obscure rules about codicils or something, so I focused more on refreshing major points than learning things I didn't know. If I didn't know it after 6 weeks, I wasn't going to learn it in 2.