Contracts struggle

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
KD35

Contracts struggle

Postby KD35 » Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:39 pm

I've seen the posts on recommendations on which supplements are good for the different 1L classes, but I'm having a problem that could elicit a slightly different response.

Our 1L contracts class is quite uninformative. Class discussions lack direction and the new-ness of the professor is evident with her inability to really express what we are supposed to get out of class and the lack of direction in the Socratic method. As such, the general sentiment already in our section is that Contracts will primarily have to be self-taught. My question then is: Are there any supplements that could essentially serve as a alternative to learning in the classroom? Or should I just stick with the usual Emmanuels/Hornbook/etc. recommendations?

UnderrateOverachieve

Re: Contracts struggle

Postby UnderrateOverachieve » Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:41 pm

Aren't you like 1-2 weeks into class...? Ask students that have taken the class before you. I have seen such radically different methods of teaching contracts at my school. Outlines from older students seemed to be the only thing that worked well since the class was so specific to the teacher's style.

I would wait a few more weeks to get a feel for how the teacher likes to see his answers then find a supplement that mirrors it the best.

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:47 pm

The thin blue book with the sailboat on the cover. Chirelstein or something.

KD35

Postby KD35 » Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:48 pm