MVPBer VERY anxious about NY Bar Exam Results

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
AnxiousMVPBer

MVPBer VERY anxious about NY Bar Exam Results

Postby AnxiousMVPBer » Wed Aug 07, 2013 9:24 pm

Hi all,

I realize that stress and anxiety after the bar exam are not unique to me, but I'm really having trouble letting go as I'm certain I failed the exam. I realize this is also a common perception, but I can't shake the feeling that I failed and simply don't know what to do with myself. People's advice to exercise or get away or simply not dwell on the exam is not working.

As to prep, I did Barbri, but only watched the videos or attended lectures up until the July 4th weekend. Foolish in retrospect, but I did NO assignments outside of lectures, and only started really studying and doing practice questions and essays on July 6th. At that point I studied probably a solid 8 hours a day with the Conviser Mini Outlines and my fill-in-the-blank notes. In total, I probably only did 800 MBE questions (generally at or just below the Barbri average in terms of % correct), and only fully wrote out a handful of essays, though I did read all of the Released Essays and their answers in the Barbri book.

As to the exam itself, on the NY day, I did OK but not great on the essays and MPT. Nothing was shocking, but I did screw up at least 3-4 laws and a couple issues, but I made sure to do an analysis even when I wasn't certain of the law or the exact issue. The MPT was fine. On the MBE, I was simply pummeled. I realize many people felt this way, but going through the posts where people have stitched together 80 questions or so...yikes, I got maybe %50 right out of those that seem to have a consensus.