1L Summer Jobs Abroad

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
lawschoolboundfuture

1L Summer Jobs Abroad

Postby lawschoolboundfuture » Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:16 am

I am an incoming 1L student. I was wondering how hard it it to get a 1l summer job abroad? who hires 1ls abroad?

Lubberlubber

Re: 1L Summer Jobs Abroad

Postby Lubberlubber » Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:16 am

lawschoolboundfuture wrote:I am an incoming 1L student. I was wondering how hard it it to get a 1l summer job abroad? who hires 1ls abroad?

What school are you going to?

cinephile

Postby cinephile » Fri Jun 21, 2013 4:29 pm

It won't be hard to get a 1L summer job abroad provided you don't expect to get paid. If you apply to NGOs and free internships, it'll be easier than foreign office SAs. That being said, it won't necessarily be easy, you'll probably need to demonstrate an interest in international law, etc. and have something on your resume that points to that or strong foreign language skills, or that sort of thing.

I wouldn't do it, though. I actually did do it and there are very serious downsides. It limits your ability to network over the summer in the city you want to work in. It makes interviewing (particularly if you plan on doing various one day diversity fairs) difficult as flying becomes prohibitively expensive depending on where you're located. And most of all you'll find yourself having to reassure employers that, no I really do want to work in the US. I just thought this was a cool opportunity and I took it because I'm a 1L, but as a 2L I definitely want to do whatever it is that your firm does. Too much risk and too little reward. Honestly, you'd just be better off trying to do a semester in practice abroad if your school lets you do that. Save 1L summer for something that ideally demonstrates both the area of law you'd like to practice and the geographic location.

guano