Attorney General Internship Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
FineGentleman

New

Attorney General Internship

Post by FineGentleman » Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:40 pm

I'm an incoming college freshman. I just got this internship to work at the New York Attorney General's Office. I have never gotten an internship before nor have I had much working experience.

What am I to expect? How should I act? What would I be doing most of the time? Was I lucky to get this offer; is the attorney general a big deal? I would appreciate any tips.

I.P. Daly

Silver

Re: Attorney General Internship

Post by I.P. Daly » Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:49 pm

Which office?

FineGentleman

New

Post by FineGentleman » Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:55 pm

I.P. Daly wrote:Which office?
The one in Manhattan.

rinkrat19

Diamond

Post by rinkrat19 » Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:03 pm

How should you act? Professionally. Not like an 18-year-old. Respectful, polite, quiet, willing, helpful, eager to learn, politically correct. You might inquire what the dress code is. Take a book to read in any downtime (if it's allowed) so you're not sitting staring at your phone and projecting the image of the stereotypical Millennial (even if you're reading a book on it).

As an incoming freshman, you have no useful skills. They're not going to have you doing anything particularly challenging. Listen to what they tell you, ask questions if you don't understand, report your progress back periodically. Don't dick around. They might have you, like, file things or deliver things around the building. Or just shadow someone to court and stuff.

I have no idea how prestigious it is, but not much you do as an 18-year-old is prestigious since (as mentioned), most 18-year-olds don't know how to do anything yet.

FineGentleman

New

Post by FineGentleman » Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:09 pm