Taking BarBri-- Create outline as well?

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
BCLS

Taking BarBri-- Create outline as well?

Postby BCLS » Sat May 18, 2013 5:43 pm

Hi Guys,

question for those of you who took a course-- a lot of people suggest not only reviewing BarBri's outlines (obviously), but also creating a personal, simplified outline for reference. Does anyone know if BarBri recommends this or whether this is on the whole useful? Thanks!

A. Nony Mouse

Re: Taking BarBri-- Create outline as well?

Postby A. Nony Mouse » Sat May 18, 2013 6:20 pm

I did make outlines, and they were what I studied from; the main Barbri outlines are too massive and unwieldy - you can't possibly learn them all. I suppose you could just use the Conviser, but I found it more helpful to make my own. I honestly don't remember anything about the process (the only reason I know I made outlines is because they're still on my computer), but I think they were my notes from the Barbri lectures. I know you follow along with the outline and fill in the blanks in the outline they give you, but I'm pretty sure I took notes in outline form during the lectures and studied from those.

BCLS

Postby BCLS » Sat May 18, 2013 7:18 pm

Thanks!! Good to know

ChrisBARBRI

Postby ChrisBARBRI » Tue May 21, 2013 4:26 pm

Hi! This is Chris Nikitas, Academic Attorney for BARBRI. Just based on the amount of time you have to study for the bar, BARBRI doesn't generally advise making your own outlines. It's too time consuming to make the work involved worth it. For a more concise version of the outlines, I'd go after the Conviser Mini Review, or even the Handout book. These are going to provide you with a good overview without going into the detail of the outline volume.

Dman

Postby Dman » Tue May 21, 2013 11:52 pm