Present Future Estates Q and how it relates to RAP

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
ColtsFan88

Present Future Estates Q and how it relates to RAP

Postby ColtsFan88 » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:50 pm

So I'm studying property, and I feel pretty good about it. I'm using the Gilbert's supplement, which has been wonderful up until now.

So I understand present and future interests, and RAP, until this point. For RAP, it matters whether the executory interest is subject to a fee simple determinable or a fee simple subject to an executory limitation. That is all well and good, but I was under the impression that a fee simple determinable was a fee simple determinable because it would go back to the grantor, and not to a third party (which would make it a fee simple subject an executory limitation).

Basically, I thought the main difference between a fee simple determinable and a fee simple subject to an executory interest was the future interest associated with them. Is this the case?

I thought I understood it, but now I get to RAP and the supplement is making a distinction between exectuory interests that follow fee simple determinables (void EIs turn it into a fee simple determinable to the grantor) and fee simple subject to executory limitations (void EIs turn it into a fee simple absolute).

EDIT: If anyone reads this and gets confused, I am convinced the supplement is just worded confusingly. And it doesnt mean that an executory interest can follow a fee simple determinable.

dannynoonan87

Re: Present Future Estates Q and how it relates to RAP

Postby dannynoonan87 » Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:42 pm

I'm not sure if this helps you at all but....

the casebook we use (Rabin) does NOT distinguish between FSS to condition subsequent and FSS to executory interest. It has them both under FSS to condition subsequent (which is a type of defeasible fee).