Bombed 1L, Now practicing at DC agency Taking Questions

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
jamman

Bombed 1L, Now practicing at DC agency Taking Questions

Postby jamman » Thu Mar 28, 2013 12:45 pm

So I bombed one of my 1L semesters (personal stuff), and pretty much no one would talk to me at OCI. My gpa was pretty shitty which pretty much ruled me out of a lot of jobs. But I did a lot of things that got me back on track and landed a job at a large federal agency that deals directly with the type of law i wanted to get into. I'm in my first year of practice and pretty happy with how things played out.

Not here to brag, just want to give some hope to anyone who wants it and who might be in a similar situation that I was in when I was in law school.

AlanShore

Re: Bombed 1L, Now practicing at DC agency Taking Questions

Postby AlanShore » Thu Mar 28, 2013 12:47 pm

jamman wrote:So I bombed one of my 1L semesters (personal stuff), and pretty much no one would talk to me at OCI. My gpa was pretty shitty which pretty much ruled me out of a lot of jobs. But I did a lot of things that got me back on track and landed a job at a large federal agency that deals directly with the type of law i wanted to get into. I'm in my first year of practice and pretty happy with how things played out.

Not here to brag, just want to give some hope to anyone who wants it and who might be in a similar situation that I was in when I was in law school.

What things did you do to get back on track and land that job? (besides better grades I'm assuming or maybe not?)

J90

Postby J90 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 12:49 pm