Can I get at least a LLM

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
Gatorbull84

Can I get at least a LLM

Postby Gatorbull84 » Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:43 pm

I have been all over these forums for the past two years and now I have a new issue. This past summer I was in Tax Law and I was offered a great opportunity in a industry that is very competitive to get into. Well I took the job because A) I was scared about the job opportunities following law school and B) this job was a great opportunity that I have been pursuing for years. Well I left law school after completing my first year and one additional class (tax law). I left in good standing and the school has offered me the chance to return if I want to (which I don't).

My question has do with the fact that I left school with 34 hours and now feel like I have nothing to show for it. I have a engineering degree and a masters but law school put me in some serious debt (even though I was on scholarship) and I want something to show for it.

I plan on calling the school and seeing if I can at least get a LLM for the courses I completed. Does anyone know if this is possible and if so how should I go about requesting it?

A. Nony Mouse

Re: Can I get at least a LLM

Postby A. Nony Mouse » Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:47 pm

Generally, there's a difference between an LLM and a Master's in law. I've seen schools offer the latter for a one-year program that doesn't require a JD, but I don't think you can get an LLM without earning JD - even international students who do an LLM here have the equivalent of a JD from their home countries. (And if the school doesn't have a Master's in Law, I'd be really surprised if they offered you one, but I suppose it can't hurt to ask.)

Gatorbull84

Postby Gatorbull84 » Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:51 pm

Thanks

Jordan77

Postby Jordan77 » Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:22 am