2L with Summer SA but awful grades

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
AntiNerd

2L with Summer SA but awful grades

Postby AntiNerd » Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:48 am

Current 2nd semester 2L here. I have concluded that I am a mediocre law student. I seem to be a B/B- student and have accepted that. However, I was lucky enough (t18 student) to get offered a summer SA at a large firm in a secondary market. At this point, the firm has seen my transcript from 1L year (filled with B's and B-'s) and still offered me. However, I was told at the end of the summer SA that they view the transcript again. Will they care that I still have a shit ton of B's and B-'s?

Also, law school sucks.

TIA for the comments.

stillwater

Re: 2L with Summer SA but awful grades

Postby stillwater » Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:51 am

they could use it as a reason to putsch you if they need to eliminate an SA for financial reasons.

AntiNerd

Postby AntiNerd » Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:53 am

I could see that. However, it is a huge firm and they are expanding so I do not think finances are an issue. The firm also stated they take as many people as they hope to keep on for permanent employment pending solid work results.

BeenDidThat

Postby BeenDidThat » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:02 am

Just work hard this year. Try to grab some species of A and not drop any C's or worse. The firm obviously likes you; just maintain a good attitude during the summer, don't leave early, write good memos (you'll have tons of time if you're not lazy about it), and you'll probably sail into a full associateship.

This stuff really isn't rocket science. Firms buy legal thinkers wholesale and slang their time retail. If you're willing to work hard, are fairly normal (socially-speaking), and want to learn how to be a good lawyer, you're good from here.

EKR11

Postby EKR11 » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:12 am