I Happened Across $15,000 Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
MapsMapsMaps

New

I Happened Across $15,000

Post by MapsMapsMaps » Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:44 pm

So I received $15,000 in a will from a great aunt that I barely knew. What should I do with it? I am a 1L at T14. I have to take out $13,750 in loans each semester. Only fall has been dispersed at this point. But it already has ~$400 in interest after just a few months, for for a total of $14,150 ish at this point.

I have a few options, the way I see it.

1) Blow it on coke and hookers

2) Pay off my entire fall semester loans, thus reducing my principal for the next 3 years.

3) Keep it and pay for my summer expenses:
Im a veteran, so during the academic year I get a stipend sufficient to pay for my rent, food, and most spending money.

4) Pay off half of my fall semester loans and use the other half for the summer.

5) Any similar combination of loans, summer, etc

#2 seems most practical and seems to make the most sense accounting wise, but Im no expert and Im just looking for other perspectives.

Thanks for any advice.

jkpolk

Silver

Re: I Happened Across $15,000

Post by jkpolk » Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:50 pm

MapsMapsMaps wrote:So I received $15,000 in a will from a great aunt that I barely knew. What should I do with it? I am a 1L at T14. I have to take out $13,750 in loans each semester. Only fall has been dispersed at this point. But it already has ~$400 in interest after just a few months, for for a total of $14,150 ish at this point.

2) Pay off my entire fall semester loans, thus reducing my principal for the next 3 years.

Im a veteran, so during the academic year I get a stipend sufficient to pay for my rent, food, and most spending money.

4) Pay off half of my fall semester loans and use the other half for the summer.