Secured Transactions Question

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
SammyJ

Secured Transactions Question

Postby SammyJ » Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:45 pm

Hey all, I need some help from you secured transactions geniuses out there (because lord knows I am not one).

Hypo: I want to buy a television for my home and it costs $1000. I borrow $500 each from two lenders and grant each one a PMSI in the TV. In the event I default, which secured creditor has priority?

turkeysub

Re: Secured Transactions Question

Postby turkeysub » Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:57 pm

I'm studying for this class right now too so I'll take a shot

I think the Provision is 9-324(g) which says "if more than one security interest qualifies for priority in the collateral under subsection (a), (b), (d), (f) (which are the PMSI statutes), a security interest securing an obligation incurred as all or part of the price of the collateral has priority over a security interest securing an obligation incurred for value given to enable the debtor to acquire rights in or use the collateral"

What it means is that if one party that has the PMSI is selling the good to the debtor, and the other party (like a bank) is just taking the PMSI in the loan to allow the debtor to buy the good (known as "enabling loans"), the seller would have priority over the bank.

If both parties are just doing enabling loans, then the first to file or perfect rule in 9-322 applies.

The rule is explained more in Comment 13 to 9-324(g)

Hope this helps!

SammyJ

Postby SammyJ » Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:14 pm

turkeysub wrote:I'm studying for this class right now too so I'll take a shot