Thinking about quitting law school- would like some advice. Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
RandomLawStudent

New

Thinking about quitting law school- would like some advice.

Post by RandomLawStudent » Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:34 pm

Hello,

I’m 22 years old and I am a first year law student at a top 20 law school (about a month left in my first semester).

As the title suggests, I’m starting to strongly consider dropping out and I would like some advice. First, I’ll give you a little background. I went to a small college and studied history (I did fine, but not great, about 3.3 GPA), and I was also a member of the Debate Team which I was very successful at on a national scale. I ended up going to law school mostly on impulse; I didn’t know what I wanted to do, most people thought law school would be good for me, so I decided to give it a try. Also, my girlfriend is a second year law student at a different school in the same city, so that played a part in my decision.

I’m not receiving scholarship, so my loans each year are about $77,000 (the cost of living is very high here). So this semester I’ve tallied up about $38,000 in debt, and I’ll probably end with about $5000 left over that I won’t spend.
The biggest reason I think I want to quit is that I don’t enjoy it. It was fun/interesting for the first month or so, but now every assignment is just a burden and I don’t think I want to practice law for the rest of my life. I think now is the best time to make this decision, because waiting any longer means I will be significantly more in debt.