Intentional Tort Questions Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
PhillyCheesesteak

New

Intentional Tort Questions

Post by PhillyCheesesteak » Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:42 am

I'm studying for an ungraded intentional-tort mid term tomorrow, and have been working on hypos all weekend. A few have tripped me up, so I'm coming to TLS.

P knocks over his beer accidentally, spilling it on D. D, infuriated, lunges over the table, attempting to punch P. P eludes the punch by retreating; in the process, though, P trips and breaks his arm.

So in above, would D be liable for P's injuries? I'm unsure of intent and causation here. D intended to make a contact with P, and he intended for that contact(punch) to be harmful (dual). However, he did not intend for P to trip an break his arm.

And what about causation? D caused P's retreat, which resulted in P's broken arm. However, D did not deliberately stick his foot out, tripping P.

I'd probably argue that this was a battery. If I'm wrong, please tell me why. Thanks all

I may be stopping by periodically with any additional hypo questions

PhillyCheesesteak

New

Re: Intentional Tort Questions

Post by PhillyCheesesteak » Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:11 am

For above, can you argue that D's assault caused P's injuries? Assault damages only relate to mental anguish though, not physical, right?

Jsa725

Gold

Post by Jsa725 » Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:25 am

Last edited by Jsa725 on Wed May 07, 2014 9:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PhillyCheesesteak

New

Post by PhillyCheesesteak » Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:48 am

Jsa725 wrote:Analysis is where the bulk of the points will come from. I would argue both sides (why it is or is not a battery) to get the most points.

FWIW, my professor would probably give this problem 10 points and give extra 5 -10 for making some poignant observations