Advice Appreciated, Confused Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
yankees4444m

New

Advice Appreciated, Confused

Post by yankees4444m » Sat Sep 08, 2012 4:04 pm

Dear Top Law Schools,

I’ve been an active board member, but I am posting on a new name for some true opinions and advice regarding recent personal questions and concerns.

I'm currently a 1L at a tier one school ranked in the 20s. I graduated summa cum laude from an undergraduate business school at a top 60 university.

Over the past week, I’ve been contemplating if I made the right decision in reference to law school and my career aspirations. My passion for business led me to pursue an undergraduate degree in business. Whether or not I practice law, I’ve always believed the distinction of a law degree would open more doors to business opportunities.

I have no intention on practicing law. My goals are in the corporate business world, and in particular, to eventually become involved in the corporate travel industry (from a non-legal perspective and title). Many business executives have a J.D., and I’ve always assumed that with a J.D., I can do just about anything (corporate business, investment banking, real estate, or if my mind changes, be a lawyer). Although not all corporate executives have JDs or CPAS, many due, and I’m unsure as to whether or not I’d be limiting myself and my endeavors.

I am now contemplating if law school is the right decision for me (or if not, what is). I know it’s late, but I’m trying to affirm this decision before it’s too late – before the accumulating debt makes this decision an irreversible one, one where I’m stuck with law school and possibly doing something I don’t want to do to pay back the overwhelming loans. I know there are probably different paths to corporate business, and I’m trying to figure out other alternatives if the JD path is not the one.