Should I give money to my law school alumni fund?

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
helfer snooterbagon

Should I give money to my law school alumni fund?

Postby helfer snooterbagon » Tue Sep 04, 2012 6:51 pm

I graduated from Chicago Kent in 2011 - I had a good time there and have a good job that I enjoy. Now I am getting calls from the Alumni Assocation. On the one hand, I got a good (sure some will argue this) education and have nothing against the school. On the other hand, I feel like they charge plenty of tuition and am unsure where my money would go. I feel like I would miss it a lot more than they would notice it. Have others given back?

Re: Should I give money to my law school alumni fund?

Postby 09042014 » Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:03 pm

I'm paying way more than my degree cost. No way am I giving a dime back.

Gorki

Postby Gorki » Tue Sep 04, 2012 9:16 pm

helfer snooterbagon wrote:I graduated from Chicago Kent in 2011 - I had a good time there and have a good job that I enjoy. Now I am getting calls from the Alumni Assocation. On the one hand, I got a good (sure some will argue this) education and have nothing against the school. On the other hand, I feel like they charge plenty of tuition and am unsure where my money would go. I feel like I would miss it a lot more than they would notice it. Have others given back?

I guess I wouldn't donate it unless the tax deduction makes you feel warm and fuzzy... Guess I personally can think of many other charitable donations that would make me warm and fuzzy that do not involve law schools.

I.P. Daly

Postby I.P. Daly » Tue Sep 04, 2012 9:28 pm

Are there any benefits? My school invites alumni to attend numerous free CLEs, open bar networking events, etc., which are funded by the alumni fund.

tim.janitor

Postby tim.janitor » Tue Sep 04, 2012 9:36 pm