Cover Letter & Resume Questions (with a poll!) Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )

Which cover letter intro?

"I am a rising second year..." - Include undergrad GPA (3.7).
5%
"I am a rising second year..." - DON'T include undergrad GPA.
52%
"As a rising second year student ranked #X at XYZ..." - Include undergrad GPA.
14%
"As a rising second year student ranked #X at XYZ..." - DON'T include undergrad GPA.
29%

Total votes: 21

.375 H&H Mag.

New

Cover Letter & Resume Questions (with a poll!)

Post by .375 H&H Mag. » Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:35 pm

TWO quick questions as I'm finalizing my application materials:
1) For my cover letter introduction, which is better?
a) "I am a rising second year student at XYZ, and am applying..."
b) "As a rising second year student ranked #X at XYZ, I am applying..."
*My career services adviser recommends the second, but I'm worried I'll come across as a d-bag for putting my rank so prominently, when its already in my resume. However, I worked hard to get it, it's my best selling point at a lot of firms that otherwise wouldn't consider me, so why not?
2) Should I include my undergrad GPA of 3.7? (I went to a nationally respected, non-Ivy private college.)
Thanks for any advice!

MissMock

New

Re: Cover Letter & Resume Questions (with a poll!)

Post by MissMock » Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:23 am

If you go with option a, you need to do one of two things:

I am a rising second year student at XYZ, and I am applying...
OR
I am a rising second year student at XYZ and am applying...

If you are using a coordinating conjunction (and) to seperate two INDEPENDENT clauses, then you use a comma. If the second part is not an independent clause, no comma.

Hope this helps!
Last edited by MissMock on Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SchopenhauerFTW

Gold

Post by SchopenhauerFTW » Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:34 am