1L GPA is above median but below 33% in a T-30. Drop out?

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )

Should I drop out of law school?

Yes, you should drop out immediately and forfeit the tuition for the summer.
22%
Yes, but you should wait until you finish the summer class.
9%
No, you should stick to it for at least another year.
70%

Total votes: 82

eveningLS15

1L GPA is above median but below 33% in a T-30. Drop out?

Postby eveningLS15 » Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:38 am

I’m seriously thinking about dropping out. Here is my situation:

My school is ranked in the T-30 for the past 2 years, but it did drop below that at least one time in the past 5 years.

I’m a part-time student who just finished 1L. My GPA right now is above 50% but below 33% in ranking based on the previous year’s data.

I have been working in my current career for almost over 6 years since college. I also have a Master’s in my field

Since I’m in a 4 year program, I only took Contracts, Torts, Crim Law, Property, and LRW so far. I’m taking another 1L course during the summer right now. I have not taken out any loans because I’m able to pay everything in cash so far. Tuition cost (minus some scholarly) is 31k per year for 4 years.

After reading the following blog and the watching the youtube video that are posted on abovethelaw.com, I just cannot stop thinking about dropping out.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLW6hm-X ... e=youtu.be (Bloomberg Law Video)
http://insidethelawschoolscam.blogspot. ... chool.html (Some professor parsing out the NAPL numbers)

My base F/T job pay is $80k/yr assuming 40hr work weeks with full benefits. I get paid OT if I have to work more. I don’t think I can get much better deal if I graduate from law school in 2015. The economy still seems to be in the crapper and no major recovery coming in the horizon.