Huge drop in Spring Grades

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
nh85232

Huge drop in Spring Grades

Postby nh85232 » Tue May 22, 2012 7:14 pm

1L at one of CCNMVP. I did great first semester (A's and A-'s only, ending up around 3.7). Had a really rough second semester (personal stuff) and ended up with straight B-'s. Absolutely stunned and heartbroken. Am I SOL for finding a job now?

Update: my background is EE and I was hoping to do patent prosecution.

Re: Huge drop in Spring Grades

Postby 09042014 » Tue May 22, 2012 8:05 pm

nh85232 wrote:1L at one of CCNMVP. I did great first semester (A's and A-'s only, ending up around 3.7). Had a really rough second semester (personal stuff) and ended up with straight B-'s. Absolutely stunned and heartbroken. Am I SOL for finding a job now?

Prepare for the wtf happened question at oci (and I assume the patent fair).

Is your median B+?

A 3.15 wont sink you at most prosecution shops. But they are going to wonder if you are a slacker.

Is it a respectable personal reason like your mom died, or something shameful like getting cucked.

Julio_El_Chavo

Postby Julio_El_Chavo » Tue May 22, 2012 8:27 pm

Desert Fox wrote:Is it a respectable personal reason like your mom died, or something shameful like getting cucked.

titcq

nh85232

Postby nh85232 » Tue May 22, 2012 9:04 pm

Desert Fox wrote:
nh85232 wrote:1L at one of CCNMVP. I did great first semester (A's and A-'s only, ending up around 3.7). Had a really rough second semester (personal stuff) and ended up with straight B-'s. Absolutely stunned and heartbroken. Am I SOL for finding a job now?

Prepare for the wtf happened question at oci (and I assume the patent fair).

Is your median B+?

A 3.15 wont sink you at most prosecution shops. But they are going to wonder if you are a slacker.

Is it a respectable personal reason like your mom died, or something shameful like getting cucked.