Careers in business law?

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
Marie34

Careers in business law?

Postby Marie34 » Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:05 am

Hi everyone! I'm currently a senior that will graduate with a B.S. in accounting in May, and I'm all set up to take (and hopefully pass) the CPA exam this summer before law (I know this may seem like a unreasonable undertaking to do in a summer, but I'm planning on devote my whole summer to studying + I'm coming straight out of upper level/grad level accounting classes which should help). I plan on becoming a licensed CPA this coming December.

My last two years at school, I've become fascinated of finding ways to combine my Accounting major with my passion for law; more specifically, securities fraud and its implications in the courtroom. But instead of focusing on the side of the corporation, I've been doing more and more research on securities fraud from the perspective of the accounting and auditing profession. After a slight obsession with the story of Arthur Andersen in the case of Enron, I would love to someday work in a field that somehow a cross between large accounting firms, the SEC and the AICPA. I'm considering taking some forensic accounting classes at some point and become a registered CFE (Certified Fraud Accountant). I was just wondering if anyone knew anyone personally, or any opinions whatsoever, on this field of law? Is it feasible to enter into, and will a solid background in accounting pull any weight in the job search?

I know there is a ton of crossover of law and accounting in Tax Law. And I know that no matter what Business Law career you end up in will inevitably involve using taxes, but for anyone that has taken Individual and Corporate Tax, you'll know when I say there's nothing more tedious, and less interesting, then researching our tax code (well at least for me anyway)...

IAFG

Re: Careers in business law?