Explain to me how the MBE works please

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
SpAcEmAn SpLiFF

Explain to me how the MBE works please

Postby SpAcEmAn SpLiFF » Thu Mar 08, 2012 4:50 pm

I am planning to take both the NY and NJ state bars. I know I have to register for both and also the MBE. How does the MBE fit into all of this? For example, if I take the exam in NY, would day 1 be NY-related stuff and then day 2 would be the MBE? And if so, would this be enough to satisfy the state of NJ? Is there a third day of testing I don't know about?

My friend said that some of his friends had to take day 1 in NY and then frantically head into NJ to take day 2 of the exam. Is this how it works? I'm a NYC resident if that helps.

ggocat

Re: Explain to me how the MBE works please

Postby ggocat » Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:59 pm

Some states accept MBE scores taken in other jurisdictions and will allow you to sit for the MBE in another state while you do the state-specific test in the subject state so long as the state-specific tests of each state are not on the same day. I'm not sure how NY and NJ work specifically; you would need to research the rules on each state's website.

Butyes, you will have to sit in different states for different parts of the exam.

From your post, it sounds like NY will accept MBE test results from another state, so you would sit in NY for NY state law, and you would sit in NJ for MBE and NJ state law.

keg411

Postby keg411 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 8:18 pm

ggocat wrote:Some states accept MBE scores taken in other jurisdictions and will allow you to sit for the MBE in another state while you do the state-specific test in the subject state so long as the state-specific tests of each state are not on the same day. I'm not sure how NY and NJ work specifically; you would need to research the rules on each state's website.