advice for writing a better exam Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
sam_f

New

advice for writing a better exam

Post by sam_f » Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:42 pm

I got a B-, 2 B's, and a B+ my first semester. Just found out today, actually. I cant say I am happy, but I feel like it could have been a lot worse.

I know one of my downfalls was my organization style. I simply laid out every issue the same exact way, Issue: Rule: Analysis: and Conclusion. I used those headings for every issue and when I could think of a counterargument I would put it after the analysis. I know it led to very concise answers but from the feedback I am hearing from professors, it seems like the longer exams tended to do better; despite the fact we were told over and over that concise responses will be rewarded.

Do you know of any supplements I can pick up to help me organize and write a better exam? I am studying way differently this semester and I have a grasp of what's actually important now on exams. So I feel confident that alone will help me do marginally better going into the semester. Still, I'm looking for like an audio supplement or something I can listen to throughout the semester to help me organize and write a better exam. I heard of LEEWS but have gotten very different responses, so I dont wanna waste the money if it's not worth it. I'd appreciate any help you could offer me. Thanks.

hurldes

Bronze

Re: advice for writing a better exam

Post by hurldes » Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:54 am

I would totally recommend LEEWs. But I haven't gotten my grades back yet. Regardless, LEEWs gave me a test strategy and organization guide that helped make exams predictable. It taught me how to break down a long, complicated fact pattern into manageable pieces that I could analyze in clear paragraphs.

I.P. Daly

Silver

Post by I.P. Daly » Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:05 am