T20 - losing scholarship - guaranteed job - bottom 10% Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
MidWestMoron

New

T20 - losing scholarship - guaranteed job - bottom 10%

Post by MidWestMoron » Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:11 pm

Well - 1L first semester. Grades are in and we received a B,C+ and a C. My school curves to a 3.3 and my gpa is now a 2.46.

To keep my $ I needed to keep a 3.0 so it looks like I am going to lose my scholarship for 2L and 3L year. This accounts for around a 30,000 difference in tuition over the next 2 years. I am a student at WUSTL and luckily have been offered a mid level firm job back in Minnesota upon graduation.

I studied my tail end off all semester and I am so shocked and disappointed that I do not know what to do. My grades have placed me in the bottom 10% and it makes me feel sick.

I am kind of at a standstill in terms of what to do - should I drop out? I do not know what to do and have lost complete motivation to study.

I hate to sound like a complainer but I am just shell shocked.

MrAnon

Gold

Re: T20 - losing scholarship - guaranteed job - bottom 10%

Post by MrAnon » Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:17 pm

I would be careful on the guaranteed job. Nothing is guaranteed until it happens. They see your grades and you are probably out of there.

MidWestMoron

New

Post by MidWestMoron » Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:22 pm

MrAnon - I agree 100%. I do not know what happened. My UG degree is in Finance from a solid school - I feel like I must have really fallen apart on the finals? My savings is covering all my tuition for 1L year so no debt if I do leave.

I am so shocked that I kind of just don't care....

sunynp

Gold

Post by sunynp » Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:25 pm