Should PT/evening students on the same curve as FT students?

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
ok2bedifferent

Should PT/evening students on the same curve as FT students?

Postby ok2bedifferent » Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:06 am

As an evening student, I often notice that I get screwed by the curve when I take a class that is full of daytime/full-time students. I feel because I have other responsibilities (job, family, etc.), I cannot realistically dedicate my entire life to studying as most full-time students can. Is it an unfair advantage? Should they be graded on another curve and/or given separate class rankings?

nymario

Re: Should PT/evening students on the same curve as FT students?

Postby nymario » Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:47 pm

As a full time student, I sometimes felt screwed during 1L by part-time students that don't have jobs and take 10 credits compared to 15 for full-timers.

Actually I don't, I wasn't actually curved against any part-timers in my program, but this is a very common feeling at my school, where 5 of the core 1L courses are about 75% full-time - 25% part time. The part-timers are curved against only each other for the remaining 2.5 classes during their summer.

nygrrrl

Postby nygrrrl » Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:23 pm

I think it's something you accept, going into the program. In our school, evening/PT kids are curved against one another for the first year (we all take the same core classes together.) There's still the issue of the PT kids who DON'T work vs. those who DO (and have families, etc). It's just all part of what you know you'll be facing as a working student with a family (disclosure: I work FT and have kids.)

truevines

Postby truevines » Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:11 pm