Work Experience decision advice Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
jayohtee

New

Work Experience decision advice

Post by jayohtee » Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:13 pm

I'm currently a new grad who is working as a paralegal at a top 5 law firm. I've been accepted into Teach For America and I'm trying to decide whether it's worth doing for law school competitiveness.

Here's my scores/softs:

3.95 from a Top 30 school/170
Honors Program, summa cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa, 2 other honor societies, won a graduation award
President of the largest student volunteer organization on campus senior year, and active through all 4 years
Member of student government Cabinet
Published senior thesis
Internship experience at a regional policy organization/for a Congressman
Son of a federal judge
And, for what it's worth, LGBT

I guess my question is would TFA really contribute that much to my credentials, or do I already stand a good shot at most schools? I'm not certainly dead set on HYS, though obviously that'd be great. Any feedback is appreciated.
Last edited by jayohtee on Tue Feb 11, 2014 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

hdivschool

Bronze

Re: Work Experience decision advice

Post by hdivschool » Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:31 pm

Those softs are pretty good but not extraordinary. Most students with that GPA will be in multiple honors societies and/or have written senior theses. But the WE and leadership positions in student orgs are solid softs.

I have no idea if your father's occupation or your sexuality matter.

You've got a shot at HYS and are probably in everywhere else.

Congrats on the TFA acceptance. TFA would help, but I don't know how much.

buddyblack

New

Post by buddyblack » Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:42 pm