not gonna snitch but... Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
bartleby

Silver

not gonna snitch but...

Post by bartleby » Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:07 am

our prof. explicitly said no writing the personal jurisdiction case stuff in our rule book (only thing we're allowed to bring to the final exam) and some classmates were talking about writing them on random pages in the book.

i'd already spent a crap ton of time memorizing the shit out of the cases, dates, and buzzwords so i was a little annoyed. end rant. someone teach me erie. exam in a few days. imfucked.

sknight323

New

Re: not gonna snitch but...

Post by sknight323 » Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:33 am

Basically, and I am studying for K's right now and my brain is mush, and somebody PLEASE correct me if (when) I'm wrong..

Is there a federal directive on point that conflicts with state law? If yes then you're in Hanna land. Is it promulgated under the REA (something like a FRCP)? If the answer is yes then you apply the federal rule. Any federal rule can be invalidated if it "enlarges, abridges, or modifies a substantive state right." If it fails this test (part of the REA) then you move on to Erie.