Need advice on IRAC legal memo

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
Nyx

Need advice on IRAC legal memo

Postby Nyx » Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:15 pm

Hi all,

I am working on a closed IRAC legal memo, but I have never used IRAC before and I'm wondering how to separate the rules from the issues. Basically, I have read several things that say to separate the issues into several sub-issues that address the legal aspects/elements of the main issue, but do I do this and then restate these same requirements in the "rules" portion? I'm a little confused and haven't found an answer on the interwebs yet :(

shoeshine

Re: Need advice on IRAC legal memo

Postby shoeshine » Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:18 pm

Nyx wrote:Hi all,

I am working on a closed IRAC legal memo, but I have never used IRAC before and I'm wondering how to separate the rules from the issues. Basically, I have read several things that say to separate the issues into several sub-issues that address the legal aspects/elements of the main issue, but do I do this and then restate these same requirements in the "rules" portion? I'm a little confused and haven't found an answer on the interwebs yet :(

What? IRAC on a memo? Do you mean CREAC?

Nyx

Postby Nyx » Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:22 pm

shoeshine wrote:
Nyx wrote:Hi all,

What? IRAC on a memo? Do you mean CREAC?

Our prof told us he wanted IRAC. It is a short (1000 word) closed memo and we are not supposed to restate facts. I was hoping I could maybe modify the format a little (to put the conclusion earlier) but I'm a little worried about straying at all from what he said he preferred.

bdubs

Postby bdubs » Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:34 pm

Issue = Question (i.e. followed by a question mark)
Rule = Answer

Issue: Is a guy who punches you in the face guilty of battery?
Rule: Yes, that guy would have made harmful or offensive contact with your face, so he is guilty of battery.

random5483