Bad grades because of sickness

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
BoriquaEsquire

Bad grades because of sickness

Postby BoriquaEsquire » Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:34 pm

So I'm slowly getting my 1L second semester grades back and I did appallingly (T10). So far, no D's or F's, but I can feel them coming (I still have two classes that haven't given grades back). First semester was all B's of varying degrees and I'm okay with that.

The thing is, I was extremely sick during finals (and the entire semester, but mostly during finals). I was in the hospital 2 weeks before finals and when I came out of the hospital, my mother had to come every day to care for me while I studied. I was so out of it, I don't even remember taking my Con Law exam (but I did take it because I got a grade back).

My school gave me an extra 3 days to study, but obviously that wasn't enough.

I know that when I'm not sick I'm a pretty decent student and law is definitely where I see my life going as of now. I really, really don't want to quit.

My question is, is there a way to note these extenuating circumstances to employers when I go in for interviews? I don't want to put it on my resume or cover letter because I think that's kind of unprofessional. Should I just wait for them to ask me about it? What if they never ask?

Morgan12Oak

Re: Bad grades because of sickness

Postby Morgan12Oak » Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:20 pm

I would venture to guess you can talk about it in an interview. I wouldn't put it on a cover letter or resume, because as you mentioned I think that'd be a bit unprofessional.