Does Your School Give 3Ls Registration Preference? Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
roguebear

New

Does Your School Give 3Ls Registration Preference?

Post by roguebear » Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:23 pm

Hi all. I'm a current student at NYU and the rising 3L class was informed this year that the school is getting rid of any preference that 3Ls had in registering for courses. This is going to hit our class particularly hard as we were at a disadvantage last year and won't have an advantage this year.

A friend and I are attempting to draft a letter to the student affairs office protesting this change. I was hoping that I could include some information on other schools and could use some help from TLSers. If you're willing (either through post or PM) it would be very helpful if you could say what school you go to, whether it gives 3Ls preference, and how it does that (E.g. early registration, bidding points, lottery preference, etc.).

I really appreciate the help.

kalvano

Diamond

Re: Does Your School Give 3Ls Registration Preference?

Post by kalvano » Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:55 pm

I go to SMU. They break registration down by credit hours...the more you have, the sooner you can register. Registration takes place over 3 days, and 3L's get to go first to assure that they can get the classes they need to graduate.

Why you would do it any other way is plain silly.

ChattTNdt

Bronze

Post by ChattTNdt » Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:07 pm

kalvano wrote:I go to SMU. They break registration down by credit hours...the more you have, the sooner you can register. Registration takes place over 3 days, and 3L's get to go first to assure that they can get the classes they need to graduate.

Why you would do it any other way is plain silly.
Same here, @ LSU

arhmcpo

Bronze

Post by arhmcpo » Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:25 pm