How to deal with imposter syndrome Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
Peg

Bronze

How to deal with imposter syndrome

Post by Peg » Mon Apr 18, 2011 2:43 am

So I'm actually a 0L until this fall, but I've already met up twice with some groups of future classmates who will be joining me at my T30 law school, and my issue is about how to deal with...well, it feels like imposter syndrome to be honest.

I'm pretty much straight from undergrad --> law, but I graduated a semester early so I've had a little break before law school begins. I've only got a couple of unpaid internships and one campus job under my belt. I was a massive, massive slacker and idiot in UG and only pulled myself together in the last year of undergrad and while studying for the LSAT. I'm going to a really good T30 law school (don't want to name it because I suspect some of the people I met are also on TLS), and I'm a little puzzled as to how I got admitted.

My future classmates are older than I am, and seem very worldly and accomplished and just savvy to my eyes. Some of them are Fulbright Scholars. Some of them left quite well-paying jobs for this. Many of them went to better UG schools than mine - not just the Ivies, but also the top public schools, liberal arts colleges and women's colleges. They've done some really incredible and difficult internships. They already seem so confident about 1L year, which really threw me because I feel wary and ignorant about it even though I've read GTM and am going through LEEWS.