Should I drop out?

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )

Drop out of law school after 1L

Yes
91%
No
9%

Total votes: 74

BoSox0407

Should I drop out?

Postby BoSox0407 » Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:31 pm

Here's the deal: T2, mostly Bs and Cs 1st semester, GPA around a 2.6, somewhat below median which is close to 2.9ish. Don't really like law school all that much and really thought I would enjoy things a lot more before I entered.
Also went somewhere far away from home, is there any hope of transferring to a school roughly the same or slightly below in the rankings with my grades? Basically just a lateral transfer to somewhere that my LSAT would have got me into in the first place.
If not I will most likely drop out after 1L year although I may do so anyway due to ambivalent feelings now about law in general. As a note, I felt this way toward law as early as last October but I studied, worked as hard as everyone else. That said, I feel must finish this semester since at least that will mean a full year complete, so down the road it would be easier to re-apply to a part time program or something if i somehow change my mind.
Yes, i'll have 50K of debt after a year but thats manageable and I feel 150K may not be.

dakatz

Re: Should I drop out?

Postby dakatz » Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:36 pm

BoSox0407 wrote:Here's the deal: T2, mostly Bs and Cs 1st semester, GPA around a 2.6, somewhat below median which is close to 2.9ish. Don't really like law school all that much and really thought I would enjoy things a lot more before I entered.
Also went somewhere far away from home, is there any hope of transferring to a school roughly the same or slightly below in the rankings with my grades? Basically just a lateral transfer to somewhere that my LSAT would have got me into in the first place.