Patent Bar Exam Prep

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
goldeneagle

Patent Bar Exam Prep

Postby goldeneagle » Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:18 pm

I've applied to LS, and plan on starting next fall. I just graduated from UG and I've got a job to make some $$$... also thinking of taking the patent bar. I want to keep "sharp" mentally over the next 8 months, and would like to get the patent bar exam out of the way!

I'm an engineering undergrad and know I want to do IP/patent law after LS.

What preparation materials are recommended? What works for people who've studied (and passed)?!

Thanks.

BeautifulSW

Re: Patent Bar Exam Prep

Postby BeautifulSW » Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:20 am

There will be a lot of criticism for my even asking this question, but...

Are you so sure you even NEED a law degree to do what you want to do? Are you even sure you want to do patent?

You might want to pass the patent bar (BAR/BRI offers a prep course; how good it is I couldn't say) and put off law school for a few years. A patent agent has the unusual opportunity to sample the patent part of the IP business before sinking $150,000 into J.D. tuition (not to mention the engineer's salary you will forego unless you go part-time). Believe me, law schools aren't going anywhere. You'll be just as competitive an applicant in a couple of years as you are now.

Black-Blue

Postby Black-Blue » Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:36 pm

Due to the overflow of patent attorneys, patent agent jobs are nearly impossible to find these days unless you have a PhD, or extensive USPTO/Patent experience. Absent a unique background, there is no reason to hire a patent agent, when there are armies of JDs with engineering degrees applying to open positions.

thegor1987

Postby thegor1987 » Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:47 am

Post back if you pass, let us know how you studied

Big Shrimpin

Postby Big Shrimpin » Mon Jan 10, 2011 8:20 am