Bombing my exams (t6), don't know what to do...

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
A Bomb in a Bowl

Bombing my exams (t6), don't know what to do...

Postby A Bomb in a Bowl » Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:32 pm

I've taken a couple of exams so far and at this rate suspect I'll end up at the bottom of the class, so I don't know what to do. I studied my ass off for these things. Ran out of time on the first exam and quickly jotted down something for the last question, which was worth a quarter of the exam's grade. On the second exam I didn't run out of time, but took entirely the wrong track on one question (worth ~50% of the exam).

I don't understand why this is happening. Clearly I need to do more practice exams next semester (more than zero), but I think the real question is whether I should even bother having a "next semester." Let's say that I end up near the bottom of the class this semester. Next semester, I'd have to be at the top of the class to bring myself up to median, which is apparently what it takes to land a job, even coming from a "top" school. I don't even know how I'd get to the top of the class - the competition is insane here - and if next semester I do just as poorly, or even perform around the median, then I'll have tons of debt and no job. Maybe I'm just stupid or something, who knows.

I'm taking this down in a few days because the level of detail provided about my exams could identify me, but I badly need advice on this, I'm starting to have panic attacks/flashes of getting on a plane to Iceland. Thanks.
Last edited by A Bomb in a Bowl on Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.

omninode

Re: Bombing my exams (t6), don't know what to do...

Postby omninode » Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:35 pm

I hear Iceland is lovely in Winter.

Postby 09042014 » Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:38 pm

You might not be doing as bad as you think.

BlueDiamond