Acceptance of a Bilateral Contract by Performance?

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
jlayne

Acceptance of a Bilateral Contract by Performance?

Postby jlayne » Fri Dec 03, 2010 9:18 pm

I am studying for my Contracts final, and I am using Emanuel's flashcards "Law in a Flash." Card #37 in the Contracts box asks, "Does an offeree accept an offer to enter into a bilateral contract by performing?"

The answer the card supplies is: "No, an offeree accepts a bilateral contract offer by promising to perform. It's a unilateral contract offer that's accepted through performance . . . "

This confuses me, because I thought that offers for bilateral contracts, although seeking a promise, COULD be accepted by performance, since the beginning of performance is basically a promise. Which is correct? (and if there are any jurisdictional splits, please include.)

Thanks!

OGR3

Re: Acceptance of a Bilateral Contract by Performance?

Postby OGR3 » Fri Dec 03, 2010 9:22 pm

I would suggest reading Restatement 2d § 30(2).

dailygrind

Postby dailygrind » Fri Dec 03, 2010 9:24 pm

that really seems like a question that was aimed at familiarizing you with the difference between bilateral/unilateral rather than anything which holds a deeper meaning re: acceptance.

Zindras

Postby Zindras » Fri Dec 03, 2010 9:25 pm

Restatement 2d 62. Effect of Performance by Offeree Where Offer Invites Either Performance or Promise.

Generic20101L

Postby Generic20101L » Fri Dec 03, 2010 9:29 pm

Zindras wrote:Restatement 2d 62. Effect of Performance by Offeree Where Offer Invites Either Performance or Promise.

yeah, bilateral would have to invite the acceptance by performance, i would think.

OP I don't think its that big of a deal and I wouldn't worry too much about it. Sometimes thinking about bilateral/unilateral distinctions just gets you more confused.