torts question about liability

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
dudnaito

torts question about liability

Postby dudnaito » Thu Dec 02, 2010 4:58 pm

Hypo: if A batters B, and B then goes to the hospital, which burns down via a freak accident of the hospital, who is liable?

Hypo: if A batters B, and B then goes to the hospital, which burns down because of hospital's negligence, who is liable?

Hypo: If A negligently hits B via car accident, B goes to the hospital, which burns down via a freak accident of the hospital, who is liable?

Hypo: If A negligently hits B via car accident, B goes to the hospital, which burns down because of hospital's negligence, who is liable?

thanks, this would definitely clear up some confusion

kcg171

Re: torts question about liability

Postby kcg171 » Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:18 pm

I'm not sure, of course, as I'm not a Torts professor, but I don't think that A is going to be held liable for any of those unless the fire is foreseeable. If A and B are in an area where every building in town catches on fire every day, then maybe, but I doubt it.

If A battered B, B went to the hospital, and a doctor negligently gave him the wrong medicine, causing damage, A could be held liable because that was foreseeable (Dr.'s give patients the wrong medicine all the time).

This is how my torts professor teaches it, and yours might feel differently.

dudnaito

Postby dudnaito » Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:26 pm

the reason i'm asking these hypos is that i could have sworn i saw a problem from my casebook that said that A would be held liable if his tort was intentional. otherwise, proximate cause would take over, and the fire seems like a longshot... in fact, your negligent doctor situation would be a longshot too, no?

kcg171

Postby kcg171 » Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:28 pm