Consideration Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
abenson25

New

Consideration

Post by abenson25 » Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:52 pm

I am studying for a practice exam I have in Contracts this week. My professor is awful and spends very little time explaining anything, and instead screams at us for not knowing if things are a 'matter of law.' I feel like I know very little about contract, and what i do know, I am getting myself from books. So for some reason, I am having an issue with consideration. My understanding is that someone promises to do something, which then results in the promisee doing something with the belief what was promised will be done. Is that correct? And that contracts can be formed with this alone?

Always Credited

Gold

Re: Consideration

Post by Always Credited » Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:59 pm

abenson25 wrote:I am studying for a practice exam I have in Contracts this week. My professor is awful and spends very little time explaining anything, and instead screams at us for not knowing if things are a 'matter of law.' I feel like I know very little about contract, and what i do know, I am getting myself from books. So for some reason, I am having an issue with consideration. My understanding is that someone promises to do something, which then results in the promisee doing something with the belief what was promised will be done. Is that correct? And that contracts can be formed with this alone?
Your current understanding fits more closely under the theory of promissory estoppel than consideration. I think you have the two confused. Promissory estoppel is used when there is a LACK OF consideration. Consideration itself is the part of a claissic contract where the promisor makes his promise as part of a bargain for (in exchange for) the promisee's suffering of a legal detriment.

abenson25

New

Post by abenson25 » Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:03 pm