Tobacco use in Law School

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
rejectmaster

Tobacco use in Law School

Postby rejectmaster » Thu Jun 24, 2010 3:13 pm

I was a pretty heavy smoker sophomore and jr years of college but i've all but quit and h aven't indulged in a cigarette in about two months.

I'm concerned though, that law school's stress will encourage me to resume this habit - I certainly utilized a varied arsenal of tobacco products through finals period every semester.

anyone with similar experience care to chime in?

ChewbaccaDefense

Re: Tobacco use in Law School

Postby ChewbaccaDefense » Thu Jun 24, 2010 3:39 pm

First off, let me say congrats. I smoked about a 1.5 packs per week from 15 to 27.

If you're still using patches/gum/chaw during periods of heightened stress, then it sounds like you haven't quite purged your physical dependence on nicotine. That seems a little weird to me, because that's usually the first thing to go. Did you feel as though you really needed those things during finals; or did you take them because you didn't want to chance the distraction of fiending during the tests?

You're in a predicament. If you cut the nicotine altogether, you might experience some withdrawal which might negatively affect you. On the other hand, if you can get off them, you might experience a cognitive boost which would benefit you (this isn't substantiated, but I definitely felt sharper after quitting).

rejectmaster

Postby rejectmaster » Thu Jun 24, 2010 3:44 pm

i found that gum/any variety smokeless would help me concentrate.. i wouldn't get twitchy or anything like that, but after writing a few pages a dip was a nice reward for having cranked out some solid work.

cigarettes were definitely stress-related though, i guess i figured out how to stay more relaxed so cigarettes have become a non-issue except for the occasional recreational/social smoke.